** ** All orders include complementary shipping (a $14.95 savings).
Place your order online (momsmeals.com/GOURMETPUREEDor by phone (877-347-3438) using code PUREED to activate the offer.
Gluten-Free Foods to Eat for Celiac Disease

Share this Article

Gluten-Free Foods to Eat for Celiac Disease

Many whole, unprocessed foods are gluten-free, allowing for a diverse diet. However, some processed foods contain gluten-containing additives, which can cause harm to individuals with celiac disease. Gluten is found in rye, wheat, and barley and provides elasticity, moisture, and texture in food. The treatment for coeliac disease involves avoiding all forms of gluten in your diet. It is safe for most people, but those with celiac disease must avoid it to prevent adverse health effects. Careful label reading is crucial for avoiding gluten, and those with celiac disease should only purchase certified gluten-free products. 

List of Gluten-Free Foods for Celiac Disease

Below are some gluten-free foods for celiac disease:

1- Whole grains

Some whole grains contain gluten, while others are naturally gluten-free. It’s important to check food labels and confirm that gluten-free whole grains are certified as such to avoid contamination. Gluten-free whole grains include quinoa, brown rice, buckwheat, and gluten-free oats.

Grains to avoid celiac disease include rye, barley, and wheat products such as pasta, crackers, and baked goods. Always look for gluten-free labeling or certification when purchasing whole grains.

2- Fruits and vegetables

Most fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free, but processed forms may contain gluten as an additive. Check labels for hydrolyzed wheat protein, modified food starch, and malt to ensure a gluten-free diet.

Some gluten-free fruits are citrus fruits, bananas, and berries, while gluten-free vegetables include cruciferous vegetables, starchy vegetables, and bell peppers. Be cautious of canned, frozen, dried, or pre-chopped fruits and vegetables containing gluten-containing ingredients. Look for plain, unsweetened, and gluten-free labeled products.

3- Proteins

Almost all fresh, unprocessed plant and animal proteins are naturally gluten-free. However, processed proteins may have gluten-containing ingredients such as soy sauce, flour, and malt vinegar. These ingredients may be added to sauces, rubs, and marinades and are commonly found in cold cuts.

Examples of gluten-free proteins include legumes (beans, lentils, peas, peanuts), nuts and seeds, red meat (fresh beef, pork, lamb, bison), poultry (fresh chicken, turkey), and seafood (fresh fish, scallops, shellfish), and unflavored soy foods (tofu, tempeh, edamame).

On the other hand, proteins to double-check include processed meats like hot dogs, pepperoni, sausage, salami, and bacon, meat substitutes such as vegetarian burgers, lunch meats or cold cuts, ground meats, and proteins combined with sauces or seasonings.

Some proteins to avoid in celiac disease include meat, poultry, or fish that have been breaded, proteins combined with wheat-based soy sauce, and seitan.

4- Dairy products

Most dairy items are naturally gluten-free, but some flavored dairy products may contain gluten. Check the food label before buying flavored dairy items. Some gluten-free dairy products include milk, butter, cheese, cream, cottage cheese, sour cream, and yogurt.

However, be cautious while buying flavored milk, processed cheese, and ice creams as they may contain gluten-containing ingredients such as thickeners, malt, and modified food starch. Avoid malted milk drinks as they contain gluten.

5- Fats and oils

Most fats and oils are naturally gluten-free, but some processed varieties may contain gluten-containing additives used for flavoring or thickening. Safe options include butter and ghee, olive and avocado, coconut oil, and vegetable and seed oils like sesame, canola, and sunflower. Checking the labels of cooking sprays and flavored oils is essential, as they may contain gluten.

6- Beverages

There are many gluten-free beverage options available. To stay on a gluten-free diet, one must be cautious of the ingredients in beverages, as some may contain gluten. It is essential to check the labels for additives. Safe drinks include water, 100% fruit juice, coffee, tea, wine, hard ciders, beer made from gluten-free grains, sports drinks, soda, energy drinks, and lemonade.

However, moderation is vital as these drinks may contain added sugar or alcohol. Beverages to watch out for are those with added flavorings or mix-ins, like pre-made coffee drinks or mixed drinks. Distilled liquors such as vodka, gin, and whiskey may trigger a reaction in some people, despite being labeled gluten-free. Pre-made smoothies are also something to double-check.

Avoid beers, ales, lagers made from gluten-containing grains, non-distilled liquors, and malt beverages like wine coolers.


A gluten-free diet is essential for individuals with celiac disease to manage their symptoms and maintain good health. gourmetpured.com provides convenient home delivery meals for health conditions, including gluten-free options. With our nutritionally tailored meals to meet your dietary requirements, you can feel confident that you are supporting your health and well-being.

Meta Description

Are you searching for gluten-free foods? Read the blog and discover a list of gluten-free foods that support individuals with celiac disease!

Gourmet Pureed customers get complimentary shipping on all orders (a savings of $14.95 with every order) through the Mom’s Meals Affinity Program.

Refrigerated – Meals are packaged for storage in the fridge for up to 14 days from delivery. Heat, eat, and enjoy in minutes.

Medically Tailored – Designed by chefs and dietitians. Meals taste great and support the nutritional needs of most common chronic conditions.

Choice of Every Meal, Every Delivery – Select your meals from an array of options based on your preferences and needs.

Delivery to Any Address – Meals are delivered nationwide.

Compassionate Customer Service – Place your order online (momsmeals.com/GOURMETPUREED) or by phone (877-347-3438) using code PUREED to activate the offer.